Concealed Handgun Permit Class


Length: 9 Hours (8:00 AM – 6:00 PM w/1 hour lunch break *lunch not provided)

Price: $100 (Does not include $25 range fee for non-members of Southern Shooting Center)

Depending on class size, family members are welcome to audit the class for free, but will not receive a CHP certificate. The range will charge a $25 range fee for each person who is not a member.

A minimum deposit of $50 is required before the class. Method of payment:

  • Mail or drop off a check made out to The Hickman Group, LLC (contact us for address)
  • Pay online ***Note, there will be a small online processing fee***

 


Payment Options



 

Required Items: Each person is required to bring eye and ear protection.

  • If you do not own a handgun, bring 50 rounds of 9mm ammunition (per person). We will provide you with a handgun.
  • If you own a handgun, bring your handgun and 50 rounds of ammunition for your handgun.
  • You may also consider bringing: a holster, a concealing garment, 3 magazines, magazine pouch for semi-auto shooters and/or speed-loaders for revolvers shooters.

*Your guns and ammunition are NOT allowed in the classroom. You will be instructed when to bring your UNLOADED handgun and ammunition to the firing line at the shooting range. Failure to obey all range rules and Range Safety Officer commands will result in disqualification without a refund of class or range fee.*

Description:
Using the NRA Basic Pistol curriculum, selected videos and printed material, the class fulfills the Louisiana State Police requirement of:

  • 1 hour of instruction on handgun nomenclature and safe handling of a revolver and semi-automatic pistol
  • 1 hour of instruction on ammunition knowledge and fundamentals of pistol shooting
  • 3 hours of instruction on the use of deadly force and conflict resolution which will include a review of R.S. 14:18 through 14:22, and which may include a review of any other laws relating to the use of deadly force
  • 1 hour of instruction on handgun shooting positions
  • 1 hour of instruction on child access prevention
  • 2 hours of actual live fire and proper handgun cleaning procedure.
    • Live range fire shall include 12 rounds each at 6 feet, 10 feet, and 15 feet for a total of 36 rounds
    • Each applicant or permittee must perform at least one safe reload of the handgun at each distance
    • Each applicant or permittee must score 100% hits within the silhouette portion of a NRA B-27 type silhouette target with at least 36 rounds.

Concealed Handgun Permit application packets are available from the Louisiana State Police. Call 225-925-4867 or go on-line to www.lsp.org It is advisable, though not essential, that you download a copy of the law and read it before the class.